not a garage sale…

I’m not really the garage sale type.  There, I’ve admitted it.  And certainly no offense to those of you who adore them, including my good friend Katy, who has one each and every year – and who I think sometimes buys things knowing she will just re-sell them.  But with three kids and a job that generally leaves me working 12-16 hours a day in the summer, I don’t have time for garage sale magic, no matter how appealing and lucrative they may seem.

But…I have a *lot* of junk stuff in my house.  (Well, if it’s mine, it’s “stuff”.  If it’s the big guy’s, it’s “junk”.)  🙂  Mostly, these are not items that are eBay-worthy (as I do love me a good eBay sale!).  We’re talking extra black wallets, ten year old TVs, slightly used (but definitely not new) board games.  Really, it’s a garage sale lovers paradise, because while nothing here is new – nor has it been new in quite some time – it’s mostly in good shape, because I do a Goodwill purge about once a month. Still, my house looks like an episode of Hoarders sometimes:

Oh, wait.  That actually *is* from an episode of Hoarders.  Still…

I really need to get rid of all this stuff.

I started by at least asking my friend Katy, the afore-mentioned garage sale expert, when her next sale was going to be.  Since we currently have 20+ inches of snow on the ground, and it’s -5 outside, she looked at me a bit strangely.  “Um, probably when it’s warm…” she trailed off, looking at me like I was nuts.  Which I likely am, because I need this junk stuff gone.  Like, now. Actually, yesterday would be better.

So, after a few forays into the world of craigslist (and just as that terrifying-sounding Lifetime “craigslist killer” movie is being advertised) I applied for an official account, and started posting stuff tonight at what I hope are reasonable rates in an attempt to clear some clutter to make space for my other projects.  In fact, this whole ridiculous laundry room idea I had (which is still on; who knew it was gonna take so long?) hinges on me getting rid of a lot of the stuff in that room, or I will not find the floor to paint it.  seriously.

Off to take some more photos…wish me luck!  And tell me, please pretty please: do you have any tips for me on getting rid of craigslist stuff quickly?

About betterlifebydesign

Wife, mom, part-time zookeeper. So many responsibilities, so much dirt to clean up. And all of 2011 to make life better, one cluttered closet and undecorated room at a time. Bliss!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

